Connect with us


George Wiley Center announces new board of directors



The George Wiley Center today announced the formation of a new board of directors reflective of the community. The new board looks forward to continued grassroots organizing in support of social, economic, and racial justice.

The George Wiley Center is a grassroots group, organizing with low-income Rhode Islanders to advocate for systematic changes aimed at alleviating problems associated with poverty. Its mission is β€œto build a community that addresses human needs and redresses injustices.” It is named for Rhode Islander George Wiley who was active in the Civil and Welfare Rights movements.

The 18 new board members are:

  • Zainab Ilumoka, Co-president
  • Servio Gomez, Co-president
  • Maria Gold, Treasurer
  • Alex Burnett, Secretary
  • Tony Ansah
  • Mayra Paulino
  • Bethany Melo
  • Tim Fisher
  • Maryellen Kurkulos
  • James Vita
  • Meghan Fernandes
  • Ellie Wyatt
  • Arlen Austin
  • Kai Bosworth
  • Susan Walker
  • Dean Sudarsky
  • Chris Murphy
  • Ubaldo Quintero

The new board is asking for supporters to sign onto this solidarity statement either as an individual or as an organization, as a show of support for their efforts.

{From a press release]

Zainab Ilumoka
George Wiley Center members

UpriseRI is entirely supported by donations and advertising. Every little bit helps:
Become a Patron!

About the Author

The hardest working news organization in Rhode Island! Uprise RI was founded in 2017 by Steve Ahlquist, and focuses on civil liberties, social justice, and human rights.