Raimondo announces Gun Safety Working Group

Gina Raimondo
Share this story

Rhode Island Governor Gina Raimondo has had some success with tasking large working groups to tackle difficult subjects in the past, most notably her efforts in Medicaid and criminal justice. Her new working group will take on the difficult issues of school safety, gun violence prevention and mental health.

“Not a day has passed since the heartbreaking shooting in Parkland that these seventeen students and teachers haven’t been on my mind. With Congress continuing to drag its feet, states need to step up and take action now to keep our communities safe,” said Raimondo at a State House press conference to announce the group. “This task force represents a breadth of expertise on school safety, gun violence prevention and mental health, and I am confident that, together, we will chart a course toward a safer and more secure Rhode Island.”

The Gun Safety Working Group will be chaired by Narragansett Town Manager James Manni and Dr. Megan Ranney, an Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine at Rhode Island Hospital/Alpert Medical School.

“Gun violence is a public health issue that touches all Rhode Islanders,” said Dr Ranney. “As a doctor, I see both the injuries and their long-term impact on our state. Rhode Island needs coalitions that create consensus based on facts and evidence, not partisan politics, to reduce the number of gun injuries and all of their associated costs. I look forward to bringing my background in emergency medicine and health services to this important task force.”

“People in every community have been impacted by gun violence, and too many of us have seen these impacts firsthand,” said Manni, who is also a former Rhode Island State Police major, an expert firearms trainer and a member of the National Rifle Association (NRA). “This is a complex issue with strong opinions on every side. By bringing so many experts to the table and having an open and honest discussion about the steps we can take, I know we’ll be able to make a real difference for the people of Rhode Island.”

The Gun Safety Working Group includes individuals from the law enforcement, mental health, nonprofit, public policy and education communities.

Two of the Gun Safety Working Group members are contributors to Uprise RI: Adah Bryan and Halima Ibrahim.

From the press release:

“The Gun Safety Working Group will meet monthly to discuss and develop recommendations to counteract the gun violence epidemic. The issues to be considered by this task force include identifying loopholes in the background check system and reporting processes for individuals who should not have access to firearms, preparing for and preventing mass shooting events including school shootings, and addressing domestic violence, suicide, and mental health. The Working Group also will support the Regional Gun Violence Research Consortium established in February by Governor Raimondo along with the governors of Connecticut, New York and New Jersey.

“The first meeting of the Gun Safety Working Group will be the week of April 22.

Members of the Gun Safety Working Group include:

Dr. Megan Ranney, Working Group Chair
James Manni, Working Group Chair
Adah Bryan
Capt. Derek Borek
Chief Dean Hoxsie
Chief Edward Mello
Chief Hugh Clements
Chief James Mendonca
Colonel Ann Assumpico
Crystal Monteiro
Dante Bellini
Dr. Jill Doerner
Dr. Nicole Alexander-Scott
Ed Troiano
Eliseo Nogueras
Eric Bronson
Halima Ibrahim
Jennifer Smith Boylan
John Wesley
Jonathan Mendelsohn
Julia Wyman
Kasim Yarn
Luis Toro
Major Michael Jagoda
Matt Toro
Matt Vargas
Meg Clingham
Paul Bueno de Mesquita
Phil Auger
PJ Fox
Rebecca Boss
Riccardo Roscoe
Richard Crino
Rosanna Campbell
Sean Varano
Senator Erin Lynch Prata (Democrat, District 31, Warwick, Cranston)
Stacey Veroni
Stephen Dambruch
Sue Storti
Victoria Richard
Wendy Bowen
Xavier Copeland
Yanaiza Gallant

Additional members may be added.

Megan Ranney
James Manni

UpriseRI is entirely supported by donations and advertising. Every little bit helps:

Become a Patron!

Share this story
About Steve Ahlquist 1079 Articles
Steve Ahlquist is a frontline reporter in Rhode Island. He has covered human rights, social justice, progressive politics and environmental news for half a decade.Uprise RI is his new project, and he's doing all he can to make it essential reading.atomicsteve@gmail.com

1 Comment

  1. This is what they need to focus on! A $200 Bond for 2 Felonies? Are you kidding?
    The RI Judiciary needs to be held accountable!

    Police arrest man for stripping gun of identification marks, not carrying license
    by FRANK MARADIAGA, NBC 10 NEWS Wednesday, April 25th 2018

    (WJAR) — Providence police arrested a man carrying a gun that was altered to conceal identification. He also didn’t have a license.
    Authorities charged Justin Castro, 21, with two felony charges Wednesday. One for carrying the firearm without a license and one for altering its identification marks.
    Providence police said Castro was in possession of a Taurus PT 111-G2 9MM containing 12 rounds.
    He posted a $200 bond, and is expected back in court in July.

Comments are closed.