Connect with us

Politics & Elections

The 21 Democrats opposing Speaker Mattiello have a name: The Reform Caucus



Twenty-one members of the Democrats in the Rhode Island House of Representatives are standing strong against the leadership of Representative Nicholas Mattiello (Democrat, District 15, Cranston) for Speaker.

The Reform Caucus is committed to changing the way business is conducted at the State House.  That can only happen with changes to the House Rules so there’s a more democratic process which respects all 74 elected Representatives and ensures the diverse needs of all constituents served. The Reform Caucus seeks greater transparency in government such as not suspending rules and posting bills for 48 hours for the public (and Representatives) to view before votes are taken.

The House Rules are adopted in the first few days of the legislative session. Currently, House Rules give broad powers to the Speaker of the House in appointing committee members, committee chairs, and deciding the flow of bills and legislation in the House Chamber. This includes suspending the rules so bills are not required to be posted for the public 48 hours before a vote.

The list of Democrats committed to reforming the State House in January is:

Representative Edith Ajello (Democrat, District 1, Providence)
Representative Joseph Almeida (Democrat, District 12, Providence)
Representative Laufton Ascencao (Democrat, District 68, Bristol)
Representative Justine Caldwell (Democrat, District 30, East Greenwich)
Representative Lauren Carson (Democrat, District 75, Newport)
Representative-Elect Liana Cassar (Democrat, District 66, Barrington, East Providence)
Representative-Elect Terri-Denise Cortvriend (Democrat, District 72, Portsmouth)
Representative Susan Donovan (Democrat, District 69, Bristol)
Representative Kathleen Fogarty (Democrat, District 35, South Kingstown)
Representative Arthur Handy (Democrat, District 18, Cranston)
Representative Raymond Hull (Democrat, District 6, Providence)
Representative Katherine Kazarian (Democrat, District 63, East Providence)
Representative-Elect Rebecca Kislak (Democrat, District 4, Providence)
Representative Jason Knight (Democrat, District 67, Barrington, Warren)
Representative John Lombardi (Democrat, District 8, Providence)
Representative Carol Hagan McEntee (Democrat, District 33, South Kingstown, Narragansett)
Representative Mary Messier (Democrat, District 62, Pawtucket)
Representative Marcia Ranglin-Vassell (Democrat, District 5, Providence)
Representative Deborah Ruggiero (Democrat, District 74, Jamestown)
Representative Teresa Tanzi (Democrat, District 34, Narragansett, South Kingstown)
Representative Moira Walsh (Democrat, District 3, Providence)

Can you help us?

Funding for our reporting relies entirely on the generosity of readers like you. Our independence allows us to write stories that hold RI state and local government officials accountable. All of our stories are free and available to everyone. But your support is essential to keeping Steve and Will on the beat, covering the costs of reporting many stories in a single day. If you are able to, please support Uprise RI. Every contribution, big or small is so valuable to us. You provide the motivation and financial support to keep doing what we do. Thank you.

Become a Patron!
Opens in a new tab - you won't lose you place

[From a press release]