From the Mailbag of

Logo of The Helping Hand with handshake graphic.

Can my landlord raise my rent $500?

The following is an actual conversation between an Uprise RI user and our Helping Hand chat assistant. The most helpful conversations, as determined by our editors, will be showcased on our homepage, with personally identifying details removed when applicable.

Posted April 1, 2024

User: Can my landlord raise my rent $500?

The Helping Hand: In Rhode Island, landlords can raise rent by any amount, as there is no state-mandated limit on the amount of rent increase. However, they must provide proper notice and follow the terms of your lease agreement. If you’re an “at-will” tenant or on a month-to-month lease, your landlord is required to give you a 30-day notice before the rent increase takes effect. If you are aged 62 or above, a 60-day notice is required.

If you believe the rent increase is discriminatory or retaliatory, it may be illegal under the Federal Fair Housing Act or state laws protecting tenant rights. If you’re facing a rent increase that is unaffordable and you haven’t been able to find a new place to stay, it’s important to communicate with your landlord. You could also seek legal advice or assistance from local tenant advocacy groups.

The Helping Hand is a free service provided by Uprise RI for Rhode Islanders. It uses state-of-the-art artificial intelligence technology and vast training on RI landlord/tenant law and consumer protection to provide helpful tips and resources specific to the user's needs, at no charge. Help support The Helping Hand with a donation of any kind.